STEAMED BUNS II

Japanese Steamed Buns were my first blog post.  They were delicious, but had a lot of room to grow, and explore.  This batch of buns turned out so much better than the first batch, I’m so excited.  I once again followed this bun recipe from Lucky Peach: http://luckypeach.com/recipes/momofuku-pork-buns/

What I learned this time around:

  • I didn’t have nonfat dry milk powder.  I have tried this recipe without and with replacing the 3 TBS of dry milk powder with 3/4 cup of milk, and using only 3/4 cup of water.  It works both ways.
  • I kept the buns small, in accordance to the recipe, but it was hard to fit my fillings on the little sandwiches.  Next time, I will try cutting the dough into 40 pieces instead of 50.
  • The first batch of buns that I steamed I had the heat up too high, and they browned a little, since they were cooked a little by convection, and not just steam.  So I turned the heat down so the future batches were just steamed.

steamed buns good.jpg

 

Fillings:

  • Mushroom with hoisin and sliced scallions.  This one was the same as last time (except that I didn’t go get Shiitakes).  But I love this flavor combination a lot.
  • Battered and Fried Sweet Potatoes with Chipotle Aioli and scallions.  I wanted to try this with Daikon, but it wasn’t available this week.
  • Fried Egg with Chipotle Aioli.

 

BEER BATTERED SWEET POTATOES:

  • 1 Sweet Potato
  • 1/2 Cup Flour
  • 1 Egg, beaten
  • 1/2 Teaspoon Garlic Powder
  • 1/2 Teaspoon Paprika
  • 1/4 Teaspoon Black Pepper
  • 6 oz Beer (half of a 12 oz can or bottle)
  • Oil for Frying

First, get oil heating for frying.  Then, peel the sweet potato and cut into sandwich sized pieces, about 3/8″ thick.  Place in a glass bowl, add a couple of tablespoons of water, cover with plastic wrap, and microwave for two to three minutes, until just tender, but holding together.

Make the beer batter:  In a small mixing bowl, mix together the flour, egg, garlic powder, paprika and black pepper.  Add half a cup (4 oz) of the beer.  Add more beer to obtain desired batter texture.

Dip the sweet potato pieces in the beer batter to coat, and place in the hot hot hot oil.  Cook in batches for a minute to two on each side, and once golden brown, place on a paper towel lined cookie sheet.  To serve, add chipotle aioli, and sliced scallions.

steamed buns sweet potato.jpg

 

DEEP FRIED EGG:

This one is inspired by watching the chefs at Momofuku Noodle Bar make a steamed bun that has a fried egg on it, although it’s not a vegetarian bun there, so I have never had it.  Eggs are filling, so I only made two of these, so my husband and I could each have one.

First I poached the egg (for slightly too long for fear of it dissolving in the hot oil), and shocked it in ice water.  Then I deep fried it until golden brown.  It was interesting, but it didn’t fit on the bun very well.  Pan frying would work fine as well, but I already had deep frying oil ready from the battered sweet potatoes.

steamed buns egg.jpg

Leave a Reply

