MEXICAN ALL DAY EVERY DAY

I took a little break during January due to being busy with the Holiday’s, a cousin’s wedding in Seattle, and having a mild cold for much of the month.  But I wanted to share with you some of what we have been eating this month.

I got my husband More Mexican Everyday by Rick Bayless for Christmas, and we have been on a bit of a Mexican kick ever since.  We have tried many recipes from that cookbook, and many more RB’s recipes because every recipe is so successful.

This morning, I made this Oaxacan Omelette, which was absolutely delicious.  I don’t love large pieces of onion, so my slices were cut into thirds.  I also used my homemade veggie broth rather than chicken broth.

oaxacan omelette.jpg

oaxacan omelette 2.jpg

 


 

My husband and I are working on keeping a variety of sauces in our fridge that can be used in a multitude of ways.  One of those sauces is RB’s Green Chile Adobo.  We always put in 5 serrano chiles because we like spicy food.

Mojo.jpg

The most recent time I made this recipe, I forgot to pick up parsley, but we had a bunch of Epazote, so I used that instead.  We have used this to make RB’s Roasted Chayote Tacos, Green Rice and Beans, mixed into eggs before scrambling, and mixed into homemade hummus.  RB also suggests tossing some green adobo with pasta and queso añejo, mixing a little into some sour cream for a dip or sandwich spread, or whisking into a vinaigrette or creamy dressing.

 


 

This Green Rice and Beans recipe uses a rice cooker and is fairly simple.  I didn’t trust that the rice would be cooked in only 20 minutes, since cooking the onions took about twice as long as the recipe said, but it did.  Since it was in the rice cooker, it could keep warm while I finished the Yellow Mole with Fennel and Portobellos.  I used my homemade veggie broth, and added 1/2 teaspoon of kosher salt, which was a little too much for me.  I also ended up adding the whole can of white beans.

green rice and beans.jpg

 


 

Yellow Mole with Fennel and Portobellos.  So delicious.  I ended up roasting the fennel, portobellos and potatoes for ease.  As you may have guessed, I used my homemade veggie broth.

yellow mole.jpg

 


 

For my husband’s birthday, I made Coffee Infused Tres Leches Cakes.  I didn’t have a large muffin pan, so I ended up making 12 average sized muffin cakes.  I also wasn’t going to be able to get a torch and lighter fluid to my apartment in time, so I just served it with a little homemade cinnamon whipped cream instead.

tres-leches

It was the spongiest, wettest tres leches I’ve ever had.  And I’ve tasted quite a few–it was one of the two cakes at my husband’s and my wedding.

 


 

My husband made these items (…no pictures) that were also SO DELICIOUS:

Mustard Greens Soup with Poblano and Almond

Red Peanut Mole, which here is baked over Chicken, but he served it over a cauliflower and Chihuahua cheese filled enchilada.

Mushroom Tacos with Onion and Garlic

Crispy Cakes of Greens, Potato and Green Chile (Pg. 132 of More Mexican Everyday)

Fresh Corn and Spicy-Herby Broth (Pg. 144 of More Mexican Everyday)  This is one of my favorites!

Toasted Arbol Chile Salsa

Mole Coloraditos

Poblano soup (Pg 53 More Mexican Everyday)

Asparagus and poblano cream sauce (Pg 55 More Mexican Everyday)

Roasted Tomato Salsa (Pg 57 More Mexican Everyday)

Grilled Asparagus With Creamy Pasilla Chile
Celery Root Pancakes With Chipotle Crema And Cilantro
Leave a Reply

