MISO RAMEN

You know how sometimes, you make something delicious, weeks go by, a blog post finally goes public…and you remember how delicious the thing you wrote about is?  Maybe it’s just me.

But when my first ramen blog post went live on Monday, I remembered that I had leftover noodles in the freezer, that I’d recently ordered Kombu for a recipe I made for thanksgiving, and I’d also ordered miso to have on hand, just because.  I also thought I had carrots and leeks in the fridge that I could make some sort of half-assed ramen soup with.  And eggs, because I always have eggs.  But as it turned out, I only had one egg and no carrots.  But I’d already started making dashi, so I ran to the store….and it became kind of a to-do.  Two hours later, I was finally serving lunch.  (Because of the aforementioned trip to the grocery store, and also planning dinner so there was only one trip.)

IMG_0011.jpg

So this ramen broth is completely different than the one I made for Monday’s blog post.  This one is creamier and has a more unique, and Asian flavor to it.  I’m sorry I didn’t really take many pictures because in my mind I was just making left-overs, which no one needs pictures of.  But I was not.

MISO RAMEN BROTH

  • Kombu and Mushroom Dashi:
    • 4″ Peice of Kombu
    • 2 or 3 Dried Shiitake Mushrooms
    • 1 1/2 Cups Water

Slowly bring all of these ingredients to a simmer in a small pot, and simmer for about 15 minutes.  Bring the heat up to a boil for four or five minutes, and then strain to remove the solids.

  • 3 Cloves Garlic, finely chopped
  • 1″ Ginger, finely chopped
  • 4 Scallions, chopped, white parts only
  • Olive Oil (Sesame Oil instead adds great flavor if you have it)
  • 3 Tablespoons Miso
  • 1/4 Cup White Wine
  • 2 Teaspoons Soy Sauce
  • 1/2 Cup Half and Half
  • 1 1/2 Cups Water
  • 1 Cup Dashi (or however much you have)
  • Salt and Pepper to Taste

Heat a couple of tablespoons of oil in a pot.  Once hot, add in the garlic, ginger and scallions and cook for three to four minutes.  Add the miso and stir constantly to avoid burning for another three to four minutes.  Slowly deglaze the pan with white wine and soy sauce, whisking to dissolves the clumps of miso.

Mix in the half and half, dashi and water.  Bring to a simmer.  Taste and season with salt and pepper if necessary.

 


 

This time I served the ramen with Shanghai Bok Choy, carrots and mushrooms.  For my notes on preparing the noodles, ramen egg and mushrooms, please refer to my first Ramen Post.

Bok Choy and Carrots:

I was making only two bowls of soup, so I used three bundles of bok choy and three medium carrots.  Peel the carrots (optional), trim them into sticks, and parboil them for four minutes in salted boiling water.  Trim off the excessive leafyness of the bok choy, and slice them in half.  Drizzle bok choy and carrots with olive oil and season with salt and pepper.  If you have fresh thyme lying around, you can throw a couple of sprigs in with them.  Bake at 400 degrees for ten to fifteen minutes, until soft.

ramen veggies.jpg

Put everything in a bowl and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

