RICK BAYLESS: XOCO’S MUSHROOM TORTA

A few weeks ago I attempted to recreate a Rick Bayless taco that I’d had without a recipe.  It was amazing, despite not being as good as at the restaurant.  Well, today I followed his actual recipe for a sandwich that I’ve had at Xoco, in Chicago.  It was delicious.  Relatively simple in terms of ingredients, but an amazing combination of flavors.  I followed his recipe in accordance to this youtube video:

 

My notes on the recipe:

1)  I roasted five heads of garlic (they were sort of small) in a dry sauté pan over medium-high heat, covered.

garlic.jpg

2)  I thought I bought way too many mushrooms, but it actually ended up being just about perfect to make four sandwiches.  I just got a variety of what I could find at my various grocery stores.  I couldn’t find chanterelles or lobster mushrooms, but I found other mushrooms I had not worked with before.  The only one that didn’t work out were the Enoki, which are very slight, and I think are usually put in soup.  Of course they cooked too quickly and stuck to the pan.  Couldn’t hurt to try though….

mushroom prep2.jpg

3)  I couldn’t find fresh Epazote leaves this week at Tony’s.  I did find something that my market called “Fresh Cilantro” which I’ve never seen before.  It looked kind of like dandelion greens, but smelled like cilantro.  I used 5 or 6 of these large leaves.

4)  I used 4 chipotle peppers.  And probably put more of the blended garlic on my mushrooms than Rick Bayless does.  So my sandwich packed a slight bit more punch than Xoco’s.  It is absolutely delicious in both ways.

mushrooms.jpg

4)  I bought rolls from Mariano’s.  They were little baguettes.  Their crust was a little soft, so I threw them in the freezer for a couple of hours (probably not necessary?) and then bopped them into a 450 degree oven for 10 minutes.  They came out crusty and delicious.

mushroom torta 2.jpg

A simple (kind of), but incredibly satisfying sandwich.  This sandwich is also delicious cold, good for picnics or bringing to work.  Of course the crust looses some of it’s crunch, but the flavors remain delightful and harmonious.

 

Leave a Reply

