POTATO PANCAKE AND SPINACH CREAM SAUCE BENEDICT

Usually when I have a leftover sauce of some kind, my response is to serve it as part of a Benedict.  This means I’ve still never actually made a Hollandaise Sauce, even though I eat something akin to an Eggs Benedict at least once a month.  So, that’s on the To Do.

spinach cream benedict.jpg

In this case, I turned that left-over spinach cream sauce from the Spinach Artichoke Pizza into a delicious Sunday Brunch.  I had English Muffins in the house, but felt like this Benedict would need something else to add a fresh crunch.  I thought of using Kohlrabi (actually my husband suggested it).  Or leeks, or asparagus.  But I never convinced myself to go to the grocery store.  What I did have in the pantry was a mostly used bag of red potatoes, left over from when I made Dahi Aloo.

So instead, I made Potato Pancakes to replace both the vegetable I’d been craving, and the English muffin.  There’s not as much color on the plate as I often aim for, but it certainly made for an excellent and filling brunch.  Roasted red peppers might have been a nice addition for a little extra color and depth of flavor.

POTATO PANCAKES:

  • 6 Small to Medium Red Potatoes (or waxy potato of choice)
  • 1/2 Onion, finely diced
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1 Teaspoon Salt
  • 2 Tablespoons Flour
  • Pepper to Taste
  • 1/2 Cup Mozzarella Cheese (Optional-but why wouldn’t you add this delicious fat…?  If I’d had Pepperjack in the house, I may have used that instead.)
  • Oil for Frying

Scrub your potatoes and grate them.  I love to use my food processor for this.  My food processor was a wedding gift from my aunt who taught me that it can be used for almost every meal, and since I’ve gotten it, it’s cut my prep time in half, and sometimes more.  It’s kind of an expensive piece of kitchen equipment, but it’s also extremely useful if you cook at home a couple times a week.  Find it here, on Amazon.  (I am an Amazon Associate.  If you’d like to purchase this product, please do so through this link.)

food processor.jpg

Place the potatoes on a couple of paper towels, place another paper towel over the top, and press to remove as much moisture as possible.  I did this two or three times (the more water you get out, the better the final patty will hold together).  Place the potatoes in a mixing bowl.  Add the onion, eggs (I started with only one egg, but it seemed a little too dry, so I added a second egg later), salt, flour, pepper and cheese.  Mix to combine.

potato pancake ingredients.jpg

Heat a skillet with a plentiful coating of oil.  Once the oil is so hot that it is smoking, scoop a quarter of the mixture into the pan and flatten to around 3/8″ or 1/2″ thick.  Add a second pancake.  I cooked two pancakes at a time, in two batches.  Cook without touching for 3 to 4 minutes on each side, or until golden brown.

potato pancakes.jpg

Place pancakes on a paper towel to wick away extra oil, and put in a warm oven while you poach your eggs.

EGGS:

Any time I cook an egg and I can’t remember the exact timing to ensure perfectly cooked whites, with a runny yolk, I turn to Alton Brown.  That man knows what he’s talking about.

  • 4 Eggs, cold cold cold, and as Fresh as Possible
  • 1 Teaspoon Salt
  • 1 Tablespoon of White Vinegar

In a large sauce pan, fill with about 1 1/2″ of water.  Bring to a simmer, when the bottom of the pan is covered in bubbles.  Add salt and vinegar.  Prepare the eggs by breaking them into individual ramekins.  This ensures that you don’t break the yolk when adding them to the water, and makes cooking all four with the same amount of time more consistent.  Use a spoon to remove the bubbles (which can leave imprints in the cooked egg whites), and let the water settle.  Carefully pour each egg into the water to try and contain the white.

poaching eggs.jpg

Cover the pan with a lid, and turn off the heat.  Set a timer for 5 minutes.  Use a slotted spoon to remove the eggs in the order that you put them in.  Blot on a paper towel and place on your potato pancake and sauce.  If you’d like, you can use the edge of a spoon to trim away some of the extra floating whites.

 


 

TO ASSEMBLE POTATO PANCAKE AND SPINACH CREAM SAUCE BENEDICTS:

  • 2 Potato Pancakes
  • Reheated Spinach Cream Sauce (I just microwaved it)
  • 2 Poached Eggs
  • Fresh Cracked Pepper
  • Chopped Parsley (Optional)

Before the eggs are done with their five minute bath, you’ll want to assemble your dish so that you have some place to put the eggs as soon as they are out.  When they have about two minutes left, pull the potato pancakes out of the oven and put them on a plate.  Place a few tablespoons of the cream sauce on top of each pancake.  When the eggs come out of the water, blot them on a paper towel, and place on top of the cream sauce.  Crack a little bit of fresh ground pepper on top and garnish with some chopped parsley if you’d like.

broken yolk.jpg

It’s a warm, comforting, cheesy dish.  And an excellent use of leftovers.

Leave a Reply

