FOR DINNER LAST NIGHT: MUSHROOM JAMBALAYA

mushroom gumbo.jpg

I don’t know if I should really be writing about things I cook that are first time attempts, and that are not my recipes.  But I feel like it’s still handy to keep track of what I did and how it worked out.  Last night I made what turned out to be a mushroom jambalaya.  Or maybe a gumbo.  Being close to a life-long vegetarian, I have to admit, I don’t really know the differences between the two.

I started by making a broth, using this recipe, suggested by the NY Times: http://cooking.nytimes.com/recipes/1015199-porcini-broth

broth.jpg

My Tony’s didn’t have dried porcini mushrooms, so I used a dry mushroom mix.  I would have to say that the biggest problem with this recipe is that it has no seasoning.  Add 1/2 teaspoon of salt, and taste.

 


 

The real bulk of dinner was making this recipe: http://cooking.nytimes.com/recipes/1015198-fresh-and-wild-mushroom-stew
mushroomsI didn’t drive to Mariano’s, so the only mushrooms I had access to were crimini and portobello.  I’m sure it would be more interesting and more flavorful with better mushrooms,  but for me, it’s a matter of walking a block to the grocery store, or getting in a car and driving just to buy mushrooms (since everything else is cheaper at Tony’s).  And it was still pretty delicious.  I love mushrooms.  My husband has come around to them too (he even suggests them for dinner sometimes).

My notes on this recipe are that I doubled or tripled the amount of red pepper flakes, and also added a large splash of cayenne pepper and paprika.  The addition of cayenne AND paprika probably wasn’t necessary, but it did make a nice warm spicy dish, that I served over rice (I guess that makes it a gumbo?).  But mixed together it felt like a jambalaya.  I bought parsley, but then I forgot to use it.

cooking gumbo.jpg

 


 

The next day I altered some of the leftovers by adding hoisin sauce, soy sauce and a little mirin on the stove.  I put that on some of my leftover steamed buns (which were frozen), and boom: Saturday Lunch.  (As you can kind of see in the picture, this was one of the buns that I over-rolled.  It’s a bit flat.)

mushroom bun.jpg

It was messy.  But it was delicious.

One thought on “FOR DINNER LAST NIGHT: MUSHROOM JAMBALAYA

  1. Pingback: FOR DINNER LAST NIGHT: THAI INSPIRED PUMPKIN AND BUTTERNUT SQUASH SOUP | GOOD FOOD

Leave a Reply

