VEGETABLE KORMA AND DAHI ALOO

korma.jpg

VEGETABLE KORMA

There are a lot of recipes for vegetable korma out there.  My version probably doesn’t need to be written down.  But what I like about mine is that it has a little bit of heat to it, although it is still a sweet dish.  (Warning, this will feed an army.  If you are only two people, consider making a half recipe.)

  • 1 Small Onion, chopped
  • 3 Cloves Garlic
  • 1 Head of Cauliflower, chopped
  • 3 Carrots, chopped
  • 1 Can of Garbanzo Beans/Chick Peas
  • Small bag of frozen peas
  • 1 Cup of unseasoned Cashews
  • Olive Oil
  • 2 Tablespoons of Tomato Paste
  • 1 Can of Stewed Tomatoes, I didn’t blend them here, but I think I would next time I make this, since they didn’t really have time to break down.
  • 2 cans of Coconut Milk
  • 1 Block of Tofu (Optional, but I like it)
  • 2 Teaspoons Brown Sugar
  • 1 Tablespoon Sriracha
  • 2 Tablespoons Garlic Chili Paste
  • A whole mess of various spices that I happen to have in my cabinet.  You can cut back on some of them if you don’t have all of them lying around, except the ones starred*
    • 2 Teaspoons Garam Masala*
    • 2 Teaspoons Coriander*
    • 1 Teaspoon Cumin
    • 1/2 Teaspoon Turmeric
    • 1 Teaspoon Red Chili Powder*
    • 1/2 Teaspoon Cayenne Pepper
    • 1/2 Teaspoon Paprika

 

I often use potato (parboiled) in instead of garbanzo beans, but I rounded out the meal by making Dahi Aloo as well, and didn’t want potato in two dishes.  The recipe I used and my notes on it are below.
tofuFirst, get that tofu pressing (I pin it between two plates and put a can of beans on top).  Once it has been pressed for 20-30 minutes, drain the liquid and cut it into desired size.  Toss the tofu with oil, salt and pepper and bake at 350 degrees for 10 minutes on each side, or until golden brown.  Set aside.  In retrospect, I wish I had cut mine a little smaller for this dish.

Heat olive oil in a large pot or dutch oven, and cook the onion for a couple of minutes.  Add the garlic.  When fragrant, add the Garam Masala, Coriander, Cumin, and Tumeric.  Cook the spices out for two minutes, and add the tomato paste, and cook for two or three minutes.  If it gets too dry, add a tablespoon or two of water.  Add the can of stewed tomatoes and the two cans of coconut milk.

Add in the cauliflower, carrots, garbanzo beans, peas and cashews to begin cooking.  Add the Chili Powder, Cayenne Pepper, Paprika, and brown sugar.  Let come to a boil, and reduce to a simmer.  Taste it.  How is it?  If it’s spicy enough for you, feel free to not add any Sriracha or Garlic Chili Paste.  Is it sweet enough?  If not, add a little more brown sugar.  Of course, here I would add the Sriracha and then taste it.  If I wanted more heat (which I do) I would add the Garlic Chili paste.  Let simmer for 10 minutes, and taste.  Does it need salt?  I think I added 1/2 a teaspoon of salt here.  Mix in the tofu here.  (I didn’t this time, but I wish I had)  Let simmer for another 10 minutes.  Taste again.  Make adjustments as needed, and check vegetables for doneness.

I like to say again and again, taste it.  My palette might be different than yours.  You should make food that you like, not that I like.

korma.jpg

Serve over basmati rice.

BASMATI RICE

I cooked my rice in a rice cooker–I love how you can just forget about that whole aspect of a meal you are preparing.  But I do like to do something a little special to the rice.  There is this phenomenal Lemon Rice recipe in “Vegetarian India,” a cookbook by Madhur Jaffrey. (I am an Amazon Associate.  If you’d like to buy this book, please purchase it through this link.) But that rice is practically a stand alone dish.  When serving with curries, I want a more subtle flavor to the rice.

  • 2 Cups Basmati Rice
  • 3 Cups water
  • 1 Teaspoon Mustard Seeds
  • 1 Bay Leaf
  • 1 Tablespoon Lemon Juice
  • Splash of Olive Oil
  • A pinch of Salt

Throw everything in your rice cooker, and let the rice cooker do the rest.


 

DAHI ALOO

As I mentioned earlier, I also made Dahi Aloo.  I kind of followed this recipe: http://pkskitchenequations.com/dahi-aloo-potatoes-in-yogurt-gravy/

dahi aloo.jpg

I apologize, this is actually a picture of what was left over (and left over after I set up two lunches for my husband and myself).  It made more than this.  It was delicious.  I would definitely make this dish again.

My notes:

1)  I cut the potatoes into bit sized pieces before boiling them, and left the skin on.  They cooked quickly, and saved time on pealing them.  I used red potatoes.

2)  I threw in three cloves, because why not.  But then I never got them back out again….and they’re hard to see.  So they get eaten.  Ooops.

3)  I didn’t have a hunk of cinnamon, so I used I think 1 teaspoon of Cinnamon Powder.  Possibly too much, as the color is much different, but it tasted great.  Maybe 1/2 teaspoon would be better.

4)  I couldn’t find dry mango powder at Tony’s, so I omitted it.

5)  I had a 32 oz container of yogurt.  So I ended up putting extra yogurt in.  Probably 2 cups.  I then didn’t add extra water since I wasn’t really sure what the consistency was supposed to be, and it tasted great.  So mine ended up a bit thicker than in the original recipe.

6)  I also couldn’t find coriander leaves.  So no garnish for me.  Except for the main picture, I threw parsley on for some color–because that’s what was in my fridge.

7)  For whatever reason, I only got two serrano chiles at the grocery store.  I decided to chop them up so that the flavor would be more evenly incorporated.  I removed the seeds and veins so it wouldn’t be a particularly spicy dish, since I wanted spice in my Korma.  I’m not actually sure if this is supposed to be a spicy dish or not–but I guessed not since it was a yogurt dish.  But I might try what the recipe says next time to see how that effects the flavor (as the seeds would still be in there).

8)  Again.  Mango pickle.  Couldn’t find it.  So I didn’t use it.

One thought on “VEGETABLE KORMA AND DAHI ALOO

  1. Pingback: REINVENTED VEGETABLE KORMA –> BUFFALO LETTUCE WRAPS | GOOD FOOD

Leave a Reply

