ROASTED POTATO WEDGES WITH CHIPOTLE AIOLI

This recipe is borrowed and adapted from the “Moosewood Restaurant Favorites” cookbook, which I highly recommend.  Everything I’ve made from this cookbook has been amazing.  Check it out here on Amazon.  One of my favorite things from that cookbook is the Caramelized Onion Pie.  (I am an Amazon Associate.  If you wish to buy this item, please do so by going through this link.)

ROASTED POTATOES:

  • 2 large White Potatoes (waxy) (This time I used 4 Red Potatoes)
  • 2 large Sweet Potatoes
  • Olive Oil
  • Salt and Pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.  Scrub the white potatoes and cut into wedges.  Peal the sweet potatoes and cut into wedges.  If the slices are too big, cut in half.  Toss with olive oil, salt and pepper to taste.  Bake in a single layer on baking sheet for 30-35 minutes, tossing/flipping about half way through, or until golden brown.  This time, I made 4 lbs of potatoes and I had to use both my roasting pan and a baking sheet so that they would not crowd.  Note to self for the future: the ones on the non-stick baking sheet came out much better.  I shouldn’t use my roasting pan for this.

CHIPOTLE AIOLI:

  • 6 Garlic cloves, minced
  • Olive Oil
  • 1 cup Mayonnaise
  • 1 Can of Chipotles in Adobo Sauce (probably not all of it)
  • 1 Fresh Lime or 1/2 Fresh Lemon

Cook the minced garlic quickly in a little bit of oil in the microwave, 15 to 20 seconds.  Then blend the mayo, garlic, 4 chipotle peppers and 1 tablespoon of adobo sauce in a food processor.  Taste, and adjust accordingly.  This is never enough spice for me.  This time when I made this, I ended up at 5 peppers and 3.5 tablespoons of adobo, and I also added a pinch of salt.  For me, the goal is for it to not taste like the store-bought mayo that makes up most of it’s contents.  But depending on the can of peppers, you might use half the can, you might use close to the whole can.

chipotle aioli.jpg

I love this sauce.  It’s also great on veggie burgers.  And probably various types of meat burgers as well, although I’ve never tried it.

One thought on “ROASTED POTATO WEDGES WITH CHIPOTLE AIOLI

  1. Pingback: BUFFALO CAULIFLOWER DIP | GOOD FOOD

Leave a Reply

