BBQ STUFFED JALAPEÑOS

This is an attempt to recreate an appetizer called “Jalapeño Homies” at Homeslice, a pizza restaurant in Chicago.  At Homeslice, there’s bacon as well, although, I can’t imagine bacon really adds much to this recipe.  And bacon was one of the last meats that I gave up–I used to love it.

  • 8 ounces Cream Cheese
  • 3 cups Cheddar, grated
  • 16 large Jalapeños, halved and seeded
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  • BBQ Sauce

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees.  Mix together the cream cheese and 2 cups shredded cheddar, and season lightly with salt and pepper.

pepper prep.jpg

Using a spoon, fill each of the halved jalapeños with the cheese mixture.  Top each pepper with remaining cheddar cheese.  You can sprinkle cheese on each pepper, but I found dipping them in cheese and brushing off the excess to go faster.

pepper dip.jpg

peppers assembled.jpg

Bake until the cheese is golden brown, usually between ten and fifteen minutes.  Remove from the oven and drizzle on BBQ sauce.  Serve hot.

bbq peppet.jpg

 


 

Note: I used kraft pre-shredded cheddar, and it was stiff and hard to work with.  I wouldn’t recommend it.  I usually grate my own cheddar with my food processor, but wanted to save a little time as I was making three apps for my brother’s party.  My husband picked up another brand of shredded cheese that I used in the Buffalo Cauliflower Dip which it was shredded smaller, and was more pliable.  A more pliable cheese would be easier to work with when filling and topping the peppers.

One thought on “BBQ STUFFED JALAPEÑOS

Leave a Reply

